Skip to content

This Afternoon, Miso Perplexed

June 19, 2009

.

I woke up early this morning; certainly earlier than I had wanted to and damned if I didn’t feel more tired than when I fell asleep several hours earlier.

On mornings like this, I feel particularly dysfunctional.    Decades in Broadcasting have always taught me to prepare for mornings.   Waking up at 3:00 AM to be at work by 4:30 AM became standard operating procedure.   But once you train your own circadian rhythm to jive with your work schedule, it’s hard to break that pattern.    I still wake up early (not as early as 3am) but still earlier than I’d like to.    I’ve been told by sleep experts it could take a few more years to fully break the early wake up cycle.

So, I’m up and discombobulated and shuffling around in my humble abode, wiping my eyes and heading to the shower.   Today you see, is Friday – my favorite day of the week and one in which I always feel energized.

Except for today.

Nevertheless, I had errands to run and as I enter my seventh month of unemployment, one of the biggest battles I fight is with boredom.   While my employment situation is about to change very soon, I still have to contend with what often feels like 48 hour days.     I wage war against boredom by parcelling out errands.  Well, this past week, I have felt a little out of sorts and kept procrastinating.   Well, I can no longer do that today, so I have to get up and get moving.

Plus,  I have an appoitnment tonight to drink beer and eat crawfish.  That and a 5k diamond tennis bracelet and this ring in particular     my diamond ring→    makes me extremely happy.   I love this ring.   It’s my favorite style and if my future husband is out there lurking  around and finds this blog,  this is thee ring, Good Sir..the one that will turn you from a mystery, into my Mister.

As in Mr. Kendrick.

Back to reality: I showered, shaved (in my case, mowed) and got dressed to face the world.   And yes, that included the best of Clinique and the worst of my make-up technique.

I was hungry and did what most Texans do in the morning:  I got a breakfast taco.   Scrambled eggs, bacon, melted sharp cheddar (what we call “Rat Trap Cheese) and fluffy, refried beans, encsconsed in a  soft, spongy  homemade flour tortilla.  

Yum.

So, there I am, applying this caloric onslaught directly on my abdomen as I drive.   I finish the taco, just in time to pay the first bill.

Five minutes later, bill was paid.   You see, delivering it personally, gives me something to do.

Fifteen minutes later, another bill swas cratched off my list and as I was driving along.  Then,  I was lured, like an Andrew Luster victim, to a sale at Target, the Shoe Wearhouse, Purses Galore, Eve’s Earring Shack and Muffler Shop, and Chata  Ortega’s Casa de Art and Stuff.  I browsed… I bought…I endured buyer’s remorse for a few seconds, and then justified to myself that I needed all these new things for my new blog.    

The female mind is a wondrous entity in and of itself,  n’est ce pas???

I loaded my trunk; kept a few facial scrubs, body butter and age spot remover in the front seat with me.   It’s hot these days here in SE Texas and the morning offers no reprieve.

I decided that I had inflicted enough fiscal damage for one day.  It was time to  head home, which I did an easterly direction.   The morning sun was bright and mMy Michael Kors Sunglassesy Michael Kors sunglasses, a vertiable steal at only $19.99 at Steinmart, didn’t do a damn thing to alleviate the glare….but I looked good and really, isn’t that what’s important??  

I drove along listening to some vintage Sarah Vaughn and early Kings of Leon when something in my windshield caught my eye.

I strained my neck to make sure and yes, there it wasm dammit – a huge crack in my windshield!!

crack in windshield

And that’s when I realized that a huge crack rock, must have hit my windshield.   I gagged at the thought of what weapon might’ve launched this projectile.

I shudder to think.

I slapped my face a few times, shook my head, said a prayer; dropped some acetone in each eye, then drove the rest of the way home by Braille.

.

Check back here Sunday morning for my special homage to Father’s Day

.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. christine permalink
    June 19, 2009 8:46 pm

    That was so funny!

  2. June 19, 2009 10:32 pm

    I’m glad it didn’t hit while you were driving!

    My vehicles are always showing up with mysterious dents, etc. Honestly, I think they must have a better social life than I do, when I’m not looking.

    Then again, who or what doesn’t? Sigh.

  3. Chris permalink
    June 19, 2009 11:34 pm

    Glad you had your camera ready for that onslaught…

    While I was riding my bicycle yesterday, I rode by a man who was vacuuming his front lawn. I had my camera, but could not make my self stop.

    This is most definitely why I tell my friends to mostly stop watching movies, the real life stuff is so much more liberating when we are paying attention, especially knowing that it is live and not made up with special effects, and construed by clever writers.

    Personally, I think we have already reached past the ‘End of the World’ and we are now in the abyss wondering what in the hell is going on around us… And, gratefully we can talk about it online.

    Nice to see this blog sanity up and twisting my mind! So much more helpful than taking prozac, or drinking too much gin.

    Thank you…

  4. June 20, 2009 2:56 am

    Glad you are back, and I look forward to reading your stuff again.

  5. Blanche permalink
    June 24, 2009 3:50 pm

    Hey, bb. Hope all is well with you.

Leave a Reply

