Skip to content

For My Texas Readers

July 15, 2009

.

Believe me when I tell you that I HATE excluding  my readers who aren’t from the Lone Star State, but the subject matter of this post only pertains to Texans right now and frankly,  only Texans who live in areas in which electricity provision is deregulated.   In other words, areas which allow you John and Jane Q. Public to pick and choose which provider you’d like to use.

For example:  if you live in San Antonio and Alamo Light and Power (or whatever it’s called ) is the ONLY electrical game in town, then you’re out of luck.   I think the same might apply to the Dallas and Austin metro areas as well as Beaumont and points up and down the Texas/Louisiana border.  

At least living in Houston, you get an option….and Wednesday afternoon I excercised mine.

I signed up for Star Tex Power.    Now, please don’t misunderstand the reason for this post.  I’m not a shill for Star Texas Power.   I’m not getting one red cent for this, nor am I getting any additional discounts on my electricity.  Nope,  I get the same rate you’ll get if you sign on.    I don’t know about you but I signed on because I rather like the idea of saving 25-percent on my electricty bill each month.

Don’t believe me?  Well, believe Alan Lammey, then. 

He’s a Houston-based energy analyst who has this uncanny sixth sense when it comes to the petro chemical industry.   Alan was our on-air “go-to” guy at the last radio station where I worked.  In fact, we called him “Petrodamus” for his spot on prediction of oil and gas futures.     He still does that and he’s also selling energy via Star Tex Power on the side.

I signed up for Star Tex Power Wednesday afternoon and as a result, I’m going to be saving anywhere from 35 to 40  bucks per month!!!!    Texas is broiling under a very relentless summer sun this year.  Personally, I’m convinced that Al Gore has hired the Star Wars defense system to hold gigantic hand held hair dryers   on us to further line his pockets, er..uh, I mean prove his point that Global Warming is a harsh and bitter reality. 

The debate over climatic change be damned, but we ALL know for a fact that times are very tough right now and economically,  we’re all hurting.    We have to save where we can and again, for you Texans who live in deregulated  parts of the state, why not save as much as you can as far as your entergy provider is concerned?

Star Tex Power can help.    I’ll let Alan take over.  Here’s a copy of an email he sent to me.

Hi Laurie and of the blogosphere’s many Lauridians:

I appreciate you signing up with StarTex Power, LK. Compared to the rate you were paying with Reliant Energy (Houston’s principle carrier), you’re now saving about 25% per month! Plus, now you’re not even paying that pesky $5 per month service charge either!   How good is that!!!
 
Now is  absolutely is a perfect  time to switch to a lower electricity rate because rates are so low. I think rates will only remain this low between now and September. In fact, I believe that around Sept, it will be the bottom of the natgas and electricity market — and then we’re off to the races again on electricity rates.  Up they’ll creep.
 
I’d love for you to help me spread the word to your friends and readers.    The word is  natural gas prices are currently eight year lows;  the cost of electricity is at multi-year lows as well. I’d be signing up for at least 2 to 3 years at this point, and get yourself locked-in, because we probably won’t see these low rates again for several more years. 
 
As you now know, one of the lowest cost, highest quality, most reputable providers in the State of Texas is StarTex Power. If any of your friends or blog readers are interested in saving money on their electricity, please tell them to take a look at StarTex Power, located at http://www.startexpower.com
 
Please choose “Radio” as the referral — and that’s because I do their radio ad’s for them.   Also, place “radio” in the space for promotions code.  
 
Here’s StarTex Power’s fixed rates.  Check it out:
12 months – 10.8 cents per KWH
24 months – 11.7 cents per KWH
36 months – 12.4 cents per KWH
 
StarTex really has some of the lowest rates in the market. Plus, out of 51 electricity providers in Texas, they’re one of only three to get the Better Business Bureau’s  Satisfactory/Excellence rating.   Let me tell you something LK,   THAT’Sj who you want to be doing business with!
 
Hey, readers of LK”s blog, if  any of you have questions, please feel free to email or call me anytime.    Just a reminder, if you sign up, please make sure you select ‘Radio’ as the referral.
 
Many regards and happy lower energy rates!!
Alan Lammey
The Texas Energy Analyst
Energy Analyst and Consultant
Host of ‘Energy Week’ on 950 AM KPRC
Ph: 281-658-0395
.
Well, there you go.    I think it would be well worth your while to check out Star Tex Power.   And for those of you NOT living in Texas, hopefully you all can just move here.   Hell, it might end up being cheaper in the long run!!!  
But I’d seriously re-think Dallas.
,
.
.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 10:56 am

    I’m in a Dallas suburb (does anyone actually live in Dallas anymore?) and I’m stuck with Co-serv for electricity. They’re a little cheaper than TXU, but I’d still go with TXU if I could, because the service these power brokers provide is lousy.

    If your power goes out, they may send some contractor out to fix it in a day or two (or three, as I experienced last year), who may not know what he’s doing. When I was in TXU land, they’d have a guy out there in 4 hours with a truck and the right tools.

    To the best of my knowledge (which is scant), Star Tex Power, like Co-serv, doesn’t have any power plants or transmission equipment. They just play the market and hire meter-reading independent contractors.

    It’s just one of those things where it sounds good (yay! competition!), but the result is it just undermines the local power plant’s ability to service the equipment that brings you the electricity you’re buying from outside brokers.

    I know it sounds Commie, but I’m for city-based and regulated power plants, like we had in the old days, just like water and sewage.

    .

    Rick,

    Thanks for your comment. Life certainly was easier when city services were monopolized and I’m not being facetious when I say that. Star Texas Power is a provider only..then again, so is TXU, Green Mountain, Spark, Reliant Energy here in Houston and On Core (I think) in the Dallas area. There are other ones which I’ve not named. These entities are called REP’s..Regional Electricity Providers. They all get their energy from energy producing entities. These are the guys with the huge turbines and generators. They make power; and the REP’s distribute it for a cost.

    This last fall when Hurricane Ike decimated Galveston, the Bolivar penninsula and parts of Houston, Star Tex Power customers received no different treatment than those who were customers of Reliant Energy…Houston’s largest and best known provider. And the way things are set up these days, no one entity is an island—not anymore. There’s no longer such a thing as one stop shopping when it comes to power generation and distribution.

    For example: energy is produced at a separate plant. You have another company which serves as a conduit,.as in they provide the wires, transmitters, transformers, poles etc, to transfer electricity from one point to another. Here in Houston, if there’s a pole down or a transformer blown by your house and you’re without power, Centerpoint will fix it, not agents of the power generating plants or the electric providers. They don’t give a damn from whom you buy your power. They fix it regardless.

    And because of deregulation bias, many of the larger providers started rumors regarding this lack of response in an emergency to keep clients from switching to smaller, mroe affordable providers. It was something of a smear campaign that simply hasn’t worked here in Houston.

    Then providers take over from there and they do exactly what their titles claim. They parcel it out to their various customers and deregulation made all of this possible. The glory of living in an area that’s deregulated is that you get to choose who you want to bring you your power. Reliant tackes on an automatof five dollar service charge (or something to that affect). Other larger provider charge more because they have bigger staffs. Smaller entities like Star Tex Power don’t have gargantuan the staff rosters and therefore, can pass the savings on to you.

    So in that regard, Yay competition!!!

    Perhaps it works different in the Dallas suburbs, but that’s how we role here in Houston.

    And lastly, you’re probably right about few people actually choosing to live in Dallas proper anymore. And frankly, afer having spent quite a bit of time there, I can understand why.

    LK

  2. July 17, 2009 12:37 am

    Interesting. I didn’t know that’s how it worked. And yeah, OnCor (or however the spell it) has a big footprint in Big D.

    Funny thing about the ‘burbs… all my Houston friends moved to The Woodlands and Katy. Must be the natural migration of the pale, chubby office drone. 🙂
    .

    Houston has recently seen a significant housing boom in the downtown area and in mid town, too. Row houses, converted warehouses and brand new sky high apartment/condo buildings.

    In the early 90’s, I lived in Montrose, a neighborhood in the shadow of downtown Houston that at one time was a bohemian haven (artists and lots and lots of the gay population called that area home…not unlike Dallas’ Oak Lawn). It was fun and I enjoyed the different kinds of people I’d encounter, but it’s cramped and crowded and parking is an extreme commoditu. As a result, I became claustrophobic. I moved to a part of SW Houston, but still in Houston nonetheless.

    You’ll have to forgive me Rick, I’m just not a fan of Dallas. Ft. Worth and surrounding areas are fine but there’s jsut something about that Dallas haughty attitude which really, seems kind of comppletely misplaced all things considered.

    Can Houston be a hellish reality? Yes. It’s the nation’s fourth largest city and traffic is horrible and the humidty in the summer can make you go fetal and cry out for your momma, but even so, my skin never looked better and I like it here. Hard to explain why, but I do and I’ve lived here for the past 19 years, much to my small town loving family’s dismay.

  3. Blanche permalink
    July 17, 2009 7:08 am

    Again, I can’t see why Houston is still your favorite place to call home. Too big. Dallas is a fine city, too, and I have memories of visiting our cousins there but I couldn’t live there, either. Too much hussle and bussle. I’ve been in this little hill country town for almost 18 years and I choose to stay here, thank you. I suppose I could live in the outter portions of these two metropolises but they, too, have lots of chaos.

    I shouldn’t talk too soon as this little comfortable bedroom town is quickly being eatened up by San Antonio. We will eventually end up being another one of her suburbs.

    As far our electric company, Kuddos! So far. For a small electric company, we’ve never had to wait more than 2 hours for any kind of outtage service. They service this town and parts around but the area is multiplying fast. The one thing we have to be concerned about is our water. Our well is too close for a neighborhood of 1700 homes being built and it’s just a matter of time when our well gets tapped into.
    .

    Even though we shared the same uterine housing project for nine months Blanche, we are still two very different people. If you are happy and content to stay in the same small town environment in which you were born, that’s your choice. Be happy. Haul hay. Keep your pigs in your living room when it gets cold. Buy Coke sodies.

    I, on the other hand, hated living in a tiny berg. I didn’t find it “cool” to know everyone you see and conseuqntly, know their business too. I had too many people tell on me for the most innocent things. I hated that, plus, during our parents divorced the rumors were constant and that made me crazy. Turned my stomach and quashed any possibility that I could ever return to small town life.

    Besides, I had dreams that could never be reached in small towns. Even San Antonio is too small and far less progressive in thought for me. To advance my career, I dared to move to cities in which I knew no one. I have made several cities’ home and I did so, all by myself. I’ve made friends and great strides every where I’ve lived and worked and personally, I’m quite proud of that fact.

    To each his own and our reasonsings are our own, Sister dear.

  4. Blanche permalink
    July 17, 2009 11:10 am

    Yea, you are so right about our own reasonings for doing things or choosing the place we live. If I had a professional career, then of course, a big city would be where I would go. But for raising kids, we chose this place (it’s tripled since 1992) to live in because of it’s small town atmosphere with a city to go to for everything else. Smaller schools were what we were more concerned about.

    Anyway, I wasn’t knocking Houston as your choice-it’s a wonderful city and if I had to choose between it and Dallas, my choice would be Houston. I traveled it’s expressways once or twice and that was enough for me. Give HOV anytime!

Leave a Reply

